Well, I made it through Friday without falling asleep in the middle of anything, so that’s good. Right after work I went and cleaned my old apartment, finishing right before it was time for the office to close, but when I went down to the office to return my keys they had already left.  I ended up leaving the keys in the rent drop, sealed in an envelope with my name and apartment number on them….

Because I had a little time and nothing to do after cleaning, I headed over to Scott & Anna’s and hung out with Anna and Alyshia.    I was really glad to have that opportunity, as I haven’t been able to hang out with Anna for a long time, and I’ve missed her.  We had fun talking and giggling, getting in a little girl talk

Services on Friday night and Saturday were good.  After service on Friday Emily went through the mikvah, yay! And Thomas and Hannah were so cute, coming into the sanctuary later to find me, and how Thomas wanted to do things like me (he took off his shoes during p&w because I did, etc)….I love kids!

Saturday after shul I went with the Youngs and both sets of grandparents to Cinzetti’s!  YUM! Cinzetti’s is THE BEST Italian restaurant I’ve ever been to, and it’s a buffet, so you get to try a little of everything.  So it was good food, good fellowship, and a messy floor (because of the kids, not because the place is dirty)

Chavurah last night was a much smaller group than usual, but that made for more bonding between those of us who were there.  I laughed SO much last night, and it felt SO good to be a part of the group.  A few highlights of the evening:  Troy punching Evan in the face; Vanessa asking if Des Moines was a city; Evan dancing the ‘Teddy Graham Shuffle’; singing the Gummy Bears theme song with Stevetta and Evan; Evan referring to me as ‘our resident chazzan’; Deuce learning one chord on the guitar and making up a Chavurah song; and huge hugs from Ingrid.

Today I am doing my laundry and trying to get things together for Kol Nidre tonight.  For those who don’t know, tonight is the start of Yom Kippur, the most solemn day of the year.  It is a day of fasting and prayer, a day of repentance and soul searching….There is so much more to say about it, but I don’t have the words nor the time right now…

May your fast be an easy one.  Shalom.

3 responses to “

  1. “What is a chazzan? by Rabbi Mendy HechtA. A Chazzan (pronounced KHAH-zahn) is a cantor, the Jewish religious official of a Shul who conducts the liturgical or musical part of the service and sings or chants the prayers intended to be performed as solos.” (from askmoses.com, http://www.askmoses.com/article.html?h=181&o=165)If you read down further on the website, you’ll find out you’re supposed to wear a large, puffy cap.

    Like

  2. My dad pretty much loved the re-telling of the “Send down your God” story.. I’m thinking about writing a book and making it all about my sweet tyrant. And including all of the crazy wacked out things she does. Worse than Shrimpy was the family pet of 13 years dying.. That pretty much killed my already rough day.. So, if you think about it, say a little pray for me.. We’re holding a funeral for her today. And I’m probably overdramatizing all of this.. But when a fur-person lives with you for that long, you can’t help but get attatched..

    Like

Leave a Reply

